When God Speaks..

For me, there is something absolutely magical about being a parent. I’m sure most parents would agree. One of those extraordinary magical momens happened this morning and I’m so happy I was there to see it. 
At Greyson’s MMA school, they learn a word each month that instills morals and/or values into their everyday lives. Today, they are introducing the new world of the month: confidence. We spent most of the morning practicing the definition and I would give him little mantras to say: 

  • “I am smart!”
  • “I am strong!”
  • “I am brave!”
  • “I can!”
  • “I am!”

So when lunch time rolled around, I sat them down with plates and tured Veggie Tales on. I headed back to the kitchen to work on supper and left the boys to eat. 

I hear nothing but silence aside from Bob & Larry on television as the boys eat and suddenly, I hear a shriek of excitement followed by “Mom!! Play that again! MOOOOHMMMM! Come see!” So I rush to the living room to check on them thinking Gage has tossed his plate or something and instead,  he’s pointing at the TV. I grab the remote and back it up to see David and Goliath followed by the ending scripture of the show: 

“I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.” -Philippines 4:13

Greyson realized that David had confidence that he could defeat Goliath because he trusted God would assist him and got so excited he was able to relate! 

My heart was so full with pride and happiness. There was a pure joy in his eyes that told me he really understood and could relate to the episode because he understood the concept of confidence. 
Being a parent has its great moments and it has moments that are not so great. And then, moments like this morning happen.. those are the indescribable moments. There are no words to explain how overwhelmed with happiness I was in that moment to see my son not only understand this word but to be able to relate it to his personal life and his faith

I have always been excited when I would read a scripture or devotional and it felt as if God was speaking directly to me. To witness my son feel this same emotion was truly an amazing experience. 

Leave a Reply

